BFA Student Profile Series: Jonathan

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

It’s easy to see how anyone would be intimidated by Jonathan Judal. After all, he is the class bodyguard. You wouldn’t want to stand across from him at the line of scrimmage or even challenge him to a dance-off because you know he’d most likely demolish you. As intimidating as you’d like to think he is though, it’s hard to hide the fact that he’s actually just a really, genuinely nice guy.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

It would have to be a tie between the city branding project and the earthquake chart. I actually didn’t like how extensive the whole process was for the branding project, but I was very pleased with how my final style guide turned out. I liked the earthquake chart because it was fun trying to figure out a unique way of presenting the earthquakes and like the former, I was very pleased with it.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

Aurora’s Ansel Adams exhibit project. I liked the crazy structure that she made in the middle and also her use of color throughout the exhibit. I felt it portrayed Ansel Adams very well.

Favorite color:

I know it’s either blue or black, but I’m not sure which.

Favorite typeface:

Sorry, don’t have one.

Favorite artists and/or designers:

Don’t have an answer for this question either. Yeah, I’m a designer myself and I’m supposed to have a favorite, but I don’t.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream job would be working at home as a graphic designer at my own company. I can see myself doing this in 10 years.

Interests outside of design:

Football, badminton, snowboarding, trying different types of beers, partying

What did you want to be when growing up?

Astronaut, paleontologist, and oh yes, a garbage man at one point

Favorite animal:

None

5 things that make you happy:

Friends, family, football, feel-good sports stories, sleeping when I want to

Something you want to learn how to do:

Code websites

Top 3 music artists:

Don’t have any. I pretty much like anything with an R&B groove.

Favorite cartoon character:

Stewie Griffin (in the later seasons)

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

Don’t really have one but as stated before, I like feel-good sports stories. It’s always inspirational to me whenever an athlete accomplishes a goal even if all the odds are stacked against them, or if an athlete just does the right thing.

^^ An example of the types of stories that inspire me

One response to “BFA Student Profile Series: Jonathan

Leave a Reply

