BFA Student Profile Series: Ali

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

Meet Ali Hanshaw. When she’s not sitting at her computer in class, hard at work on design, she changes into her equally talented volleyball player alter ego. In addition, it’s hard not to like someone who will say things like she likes penguins “because they are all dressed up and nowhere to go.”

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

My favorite BFA project so far would have to be my Sealegs Barbados Rum packaging. The whole project gave us a wide range of experience of what would happen in the real world. We named our product; designed the logo, three packages, take home bag, and trade show exhibit. The final product was so rewarding because it showed the hard work that went into the project.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

I really enjoyed the group museum project of Amanda Blythe, Aurora Adkins, Brian Gomez, and Stephanie Chan. They did a fantastic job and exceeded the expectations of the project.

Favorite color:

Teal

Favorite typeface:

For the record, my favorite typeface of all time would have to be Futura, but if Connie is reading this then it’s Gotham 🙂 HAHA.

Favorite artists and/or designers:

I admire the work of Charles and Ray Eames very much because of their design beliefs. Everything they do is stunning, simple, and fully functional.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream job would be to have my own business with my father. I see us in a huge warehouse designing everything from furniture to product and packaging design.

Interests outside of design:

Other than Graphic Design, I play volleyball. I also love relaxing on the beach with an ice cold Corona.

What did you want to be when growing up?

I always wanted to be an artist of some sort. I also dreamed of being a volleyball player, but that dream ended my first year of college when I quit the SJSU team to focus on the BFA.

Favorite animal:

My favorite animal would have to be a Jaguar…LOL NOT! (BFA 2012 inside joke). I love penguins because they are all dressed up and nowhere to go.

5 things that make you happy:

Comedy movies, volleyball, art, music, and doing projects for friends

Something you want to learn how to do:

I would love to learn how to cook. I can heat things up and mix stuff together, but I would love to master Thanksgiving dinner.

Top 3 music artists:

The Shins, Steve Miller Band, and CCR

Favorite cartoon character:

Stewie from Family Guy

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

The best inspirational performance would be when I saw The Lion King in San Francisco. The costumes, choreography, and set design were just incredible.

Leave a Reply

