BFA Student Profile Series: Amanda

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

Amanda Blythe may just be one of the nicest people you will come across. It’s not just that she’s nice, but with a diverse range of interests, she’s also a lot of fun to hang out with. And for anyone who’s into design history or loves New York City, hopefully her “I ❤ Milton Glaser” reference didn’t go over your head.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

My favorite project so far was the earthquake map because it was fun analyzing all the data and figuring out the best way to represent it.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

The most memorable project was Colin’s style guide for the city of Palo Alto. He used interesting textures and patterns.

Favorite color:

Green

Favorite typeface:

Garamond

Favorite artists and/or designers:

I ❤ Milton Glaser

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream job would be working for a non-profit charity type company. I hope to have my own design firm in 10 years.

Interests outside of design:

I like to hike and go camping.

What did you want to be when growing up?

I wanted to be a mechanic like my father.

Favorite animal:

My dog Scout because he is the cutest dog ever!

5 things that make you happy:

Pizza, margaritas, my family, my dog, shopping

Something you want to learn how to do:

Chemistry

Top 3 music artists:

Blink 182, Taylor Swift, Oasis

Favorite cartoon character:

Dot from The Animaniacs

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

The first Sunday I went to church while I was in Air Force basic training.

Leave a Reply

