BFA Student Profile Series: Kelsey

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

In case you haven’t noticed from Kelsey Rahmgren’s many giraffe accessories or the many giraffe related posts on her Facebook wall, giraffes are her favorite animal. In case you couldn’t tell that she likes cats and design, she named one of her cats Bruce Mau. And in case you didn’t know that she’s also a talented singer, yes that is her singing in her video opening.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

I think the city branding project was my favorite, although it’s a pretty close call between that and the package/exhibition design. I think both of those projects taught me a lot and allowed me to explore lots of different aspects of design.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

I liked Paulina’s turtle poster because I think it was interesting, and she really stepped out of her comfort zone and thought outside the box.

Favorite color:

Green

Favorite typeface:

I don’t really have one, but Futura tends to be my default.

Favorite artists and/or designers:

I love all the artists of the Aesthetic Movement and Art Nouveau era. I think there is such beauty and craftsmanship in all the work that came from that time period.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I would love to have my own letterpress and design shop somewhere in the Bay Area because I love to design, but I also love to work with my hands.

Interests outside of design:

Singing, making crafts, hanging out with my cats

What did you want to be when growing up?

When I was 3 I wanted to be Halloween, don’t ask me what you would major in to become that…

Favorite animal:

Giraffe of course! I relate to them in many ways.

5 things that make you happy:

My family, my boyfriend, my kitties, my job, and delicious food

Something you want to learn how to do:

Letterpress printing

Top 3 music artists:

Dixie Chicks, The Civil Wars, Carole King

Favorite cartoon character:

Tigger

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

I think watching my little younger sister sing her heart out in a solo at her college with her acapella group, I was so proud of her and never knew she had it in her.

Leave a Reply

