BFA Student Profile Series: Momo

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

You’ll probably never get to see the often overwhelming amount of behind the scenes work that class president Momo Cha actually does (which, by the way, our class is very grateful for). There’s something to be said about juggling BFA classes, Japanese classes, outside jobs, presidential duties, biking to school (sometimes in the rain), drawing/painting, and the occasional quick-witted comic strip for the class blog. Momo Cha is one badass class president, and even that’s probably an understatement.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

The Banksy exhibit project. I discovered that I really enjoy exhibition design, and it was really fun to work with Banksy’s graffiti on the walls of the library. If only I could really do that in real life… (Just kidding… Maybe.)

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

Ron’s “Bing” bibingka packaging project. The shape of the boxes were amazing and innovative, and I really loved the natural yet modern aesthetic. (Don’t tell him I said that though.)

Favorite color:

Cadmium orange & pthalo blue.

Favorite typeface:

Wingdings.

Hahaha, not. Right now, I’d say Hoefler Titling and Univers Condensed.

Favorite artists and/or designers:

Marcel Duchamp, Hayao Miyazaki, Kubo Tite, Kenzo Tange, Banksy, Rinpa Eshidan, and probably much more. All of these people have influenced my life significantly, whether it’s artistically or philosophically.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream job is being creative director of my own design firm that also allows me to draw and paint. I can’t imagine my life without drawing and painting. In 10 years, I think I may be working in Japan at a studio to broaden my design repertoire.

Interests outside of design:

Drawing, painting, gardening, video gaming, cooking Japanese food, reading books & Japanese comics, playing tennis, traveling.

What did you want to be when growing up?

Depends on what point in my youth. Apparently I wanted to be a dentist when I was in kindergarten. In elementary school, I wanted to be a painter. In middle school, I wanted to be a mangaka, a Japanese comic artist. In high school, I wanted to be a 3-D animator or concept artist for video games.

Favorite animal:

Crows. It’s one of the Chinese characters of my pen name and they’re very intelligent birds. They also saved me from vicious seagulls trying to steal my lunch.

5 things that make you happy:

My homies (family & friends), making art, tea, karaoke, and my dad’s cooking.

Something you want to learn how to do:

Pilot a jet plane.

But that’s probably not a safe idea.

Top 3 music artists:

Rip Slyme, Gorillaz, Dragon Ash (rest in peace, Ikuzone).

Favorite cartoon character:

Ashitaka from Princess Mononoke or Haku from Spirited Away.

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

Watching the World Cup at the Civic Center in SF was incredible because of all the energy of the fans and the intensity of each player fighting for their country’s honor on the field. I expect more of that kind of energy when I go see the World Cup in person in 2014.

Leave a Reply

