BFA Student Profile Series: Paulina

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

It’s sometimes easy to forget that Paulina Showalter is just a twenty-five-year-old student because of the huge responsibilities that she takes on in addition to being, well, just a twenty-five-year-old student. If you needed proof to show just how mature she is for her age, just the phrase “is married, has a ranch with horses and other animals, and is in the BFA program” should say it all. But that’s nothing new to her because she’s been doing it all for a while now.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

The exhibition design of food and culture because it put a lot of design techniques to work and included many different aspects of design. I enjoyed stepping out of my box and creating something I enjoyed.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

A memorable project is the group exhibition design by Aurora, Amanda, Brian, and Stephanie Chan. Their dedication to the final project was amazing. The hard work paid off, and in the end, I remember looking at all the detail and was amazed by the craftsmanship as well as the design quality that went into every aspect of the design.

Favorite color:

Blue

Favorite typeface:

Don’t have one, go to typeface Avant Garde

Favorite artists and/or designers:

Favorite photographer would be Andrew Zuckerman. How he creates a composition with animals and people is outstanding. Favorite artist, Monet because I could sit and get lost in his paintings for hours. Favorite designer would have to be Aubrey Beardsley for all his work done during the Art Nouveau era.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream design job would be working for Disney doing all types of graphics. In 10 years I see myself working as a designer and photographer while raising a family.

Interests outside of design:

Horseback riding, anything that deals with animals, reading a really good book, photography

What did you want to be when growing up?

I wanted to first be a wild animal trainer, then a horse trainer, then a designer

Favorite animal:

Horse because of its presence, beauty, and power

5 things that make you happy:

My husband, my animals, photography, books, and Disneyland

Something you want to learn how to do:

Calligraphy

Top 3 music artists:

Lady Antebellum, Keith Urban, and Carrie Underwood

Favorite cartoon character:

Kronk

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

Can’t think of one

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s