BFA Student Profile Series: Ron

Each week we will be featuring a student from our class for our Student Profile Series, where you can get to know more about the person both inside and outside of the classroom.

From just his fill-out responses to the questions given, Ron Catacutan projects a type of instant likeability. And he’s not just like that on paper but in person as well. It doesn’t take too long to figure out that he’s a huge Wu-Tang fan, just like it doesn’t take too long to figure out how enthusiastic he can get, especially when you get him out on the dance floor or get him talking about design and other interests.

What has been your favorite BFA project so far?

Hmmm…I would have to say my packaging project for the Filipino dessert, Bibingka. This project really challenged me to bring a huge cultural aspect to the table, but still make it acceptable for all people. I think being Filipino helped give me that extra push during the project, not only to make something that represented my culture but also something my relatives could appreciate.

What is a memorable or favorite project of someone else in the class that isn’t your own?

There are quite a few I would have to say, since we all have different styles and approaches. For exhibition design, Aurora’s Ansel Adams exhibition really stood out. The shapes that she was able to create from paper were just insane. Jonathan’s Oakland Style guide was really good for the branding project. I think what I appreciated most from it was the cleanliness of his book and his ability to create a clean website for it. Lastly, Cynthia’s methodology and approach to the process book for Google News. It’s on newsprint, looks like a newspaper, and it has a Ryan Gosling insert. WHAAAAAT. SLICK!

Favorite color:

I’d have to say pantone 1795. (yeah I memorized it…haha). It is a super eye catching red.

Favorite typeface:

I’d say for right now, Sentinel. What can I say, I like serifs! And Sentinel’s italic is butter.

Favorite artists and/or designers:

Artists: Jack Kirby, Shepard Fairey.

I love comics and cartoons, so Jack Kirby definitely. A lot of the anime artists also because their use of color combos are crazy, and they use a lot of unexpected combinations =].

I just love Shepard Fairey’s use of contrast and vector graphics…very eye catching.

Designers: Otl Aicher

I find it very difficult to make a lot of graphics tie together with the same look and feel. Iconography is something I have much respect for.

What would be your dream job? Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

My dream jobs would be designing album art/packaging for a musical artist I follow. Creating video game packaging for a game that I enjoy. Being part of a motion graphics team for movies that I love. If I can accomplish those goals, then after that I just want to learn as much as I can and keep producing something amazing. 10 years? Hopefully working with friends, making the world a better place visually, and possibly having a side clothing label with friends also. =]

Interests outside of design:

I love to dance, ask anyone! Music, Music, Music! Concerts! (and for my classmates, no it’s not only Wu-Tang, but yes they are very important =P). Big on watching movies, film festivals, and all that. Video game nerd. Learning how to cook traditional Filipino dishes. Oh yeah, I like to dance, ask anyone!

What did you want to be when growing up?

Video game developer

Favorite animal:

Dog. Specifically German Shepherds, Huskies, and Bulldogs. Why? Because they look so cool.

5 things that make you happy:

Music, Coffee, Concerts, Tattoos, Family & Friends

Something you want to learn how to do:

Handmade typography

Top 3 music artists:

This one is always a toughy, it changes daily, but off the top of my head. Wu-Tang, Gangstarr, and Boot Camp Clik.

Favorite cartoon character:

Venom & Soundwave

Best or most inspiration performance of any kind that you’ve seen?

Concerts. Listening to a CD is one thing, but getting the performance from people that get you going or help motivate you is a totally different experience. The energy that concerts bring is out of this world. It also gives you a place to connect with others who share the same views on music.

Leave a Reply

